New announcement. Learn more



National Appeal - Christchurch Muslim Community

The Society of St Vincent de Paul in New Zealand is initiating an appeal to assist those suffering violence against Muslims at Christchurch Mosques Friday 15 March 2019.

The funds raised will be administered through the Society’s Christchurch Area Council and distributed to conferences enabling Vincentians to undertake long-term/ongoing support to families and children.

New Zealand’s six Catholic bishops have issued a statement expressing their solidarity with New Zealand’s Muslim community:

 “Dear Members of the Muslim community in Aotearoa New Zealand. We hold you in prayer as we hear the terrible news of violence against Muslims at mosques in Christchurch.  We are profoundly aware of the positive relationships we have with Islamic people in this land, and we are particularly horrified that this has happened at a place and time of prayer.  We are deeply saddened that people have been killed and injured, and our hearts go out to them, their families and wider community.  We wish you to be aware of our solidarity with you in the face of such violence.”  The bishops signed their letter  “Peace, Salaam.”

A message sent by Cardinal Pietro Parolin, Vatican secretary of state, on behalf of Pope Francis, said the pope was “deeply saddened to learn of the injury and loss of life caused by the senseless acts of violence at the mosques.”

“He assures all New Zealanders, and in particular the Muslim community, of his heartfelt solidarity in the wake of these attacks.”  He also offered prayers and blessings to those injured, those grieving, those who died and emergency personnel involved.

Please deposit donations into the following account:

Society of St Vincent de Paul National Council 

BNZ Bank Account Number:  02-0528 0208598-27

Reference: 'Christchurch Appeal'

or donate via our givealittle page and use reference 'Christchurch Appeal' in the comments field.

The appeal is now open and will close 1 June 2019

Yours fraternally,

Marlena Hoeft-Marwick - National President

Mike Daly - President Christchurch Area Council